How dare I not dream?

Today, I'm throwing it back to a moment that challenged not just my dreams but also the fabric of gender

What’s Good Friend! 

Today, I'm throwing it back to a moment that challenged not just my dreams but also the fabric of gender norms. Picture this: me, the only girl on the all-boys football team in middle school, facing off against more than just opponents on the field. Nope, I had to tackle the stereotypes, the doubters, and even the entitled parents who couldn't wrap their heads around a girl daring to step into their "boys only" domain.

For a moment, I watched as dads and grandads marched up to the field, their voices raised in frustration, their pride shattered by the mere sight of a girl daring to play their beloved sport. And let me tell you, it stung. It stung to see how their narrow-mindedness turned them into sexists, how their entitlement clouded their judgment, all because I dared to be bold.

But here's the thing, in the face of adversity, I didn't back down. Though I had plenty of reasons too… I stood tall, laced up my cleats, and showed up, game after game, ready to prove that passion, determination, and intention knows no gender. And you know what? I left those doubters eating their words, because when you dare to show up for your dreams, when you dare to be bold, there's no limit to what you can achieve.

I felt like sharing this because I’ve been in a space where I recognize… I haven’t dared to be bold, I haven’t dared to dream… I’ve only existed to get by, which is very necessary at times, because when we find ourselves there, we typically are in recovery mode from something. Now, I’m in a daring mood, I’m in a I’ve rested and recovered mood, I’m in a who gone check me mood! 

regina hall what GIF by Little Movie

Gif by LittleTheMovie on Giphy

So look, as we navigate our own journey of daring and dreaming, remember this: don't let these naysayers dim your light. For me… As long as your heart is in the right place, and long as you embrace your uniqueness, go forth and shatter those stereotypes, and march onto the field of your dreams with confidence!!! 

Additionally, I want to share one of my most cherished speeches from Martin Luther King Jr., delivered on March 3, 1968, titled 'Unfulfilled Dreams.' When you have the time, I’d like you to take a listen and feel free to share your thoughts with me.

Here's to breaking more boundaries, challenging norms, and daring to dream bigger than ever before.

With fearless determination and intentional actions,

Shakeyla M. Ingram

P.S. I love you!

Reply

or to participate.